50/50: Chile

Chile_2041828

Documenting social responsibility projects has been an important part of my assignment work over the years. These students in blue-checkered smocks were partaking in a special after school science program in Santiago, Chile created just for young women. After spending the session with them I asked them to line up for a group portrait, and after a series of serous poses I told them in my passable Spanish that I had a special friend who wanted to be in the photograph with them. When I rolled over the skeleton that was lurking in the corner of the classroom and placed his arms around the girls in the front row, the group exploded in spontaneous laughter and I got my shot.

Read about the 50/50 project here

Go to my website here

50/50: Argentina, Austria, Bhutan, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Canada, Chile

Check out the new online publication All My Jazz here